The prayer of a sad person

“Hannah was in deep anguish, crying bitterly as she prayed to the Lord. And she made this vow: “O Lord of Heaven’s Armies, if you will look upon my sorrow and answer my prayer and give me a son, then I will give him back to you. He will be yours for his entire lifetime, and as a sign that he has been dedicated to the Lord, his hair will never be cut.

1 Samuel 1:10-11 NLT

__________________________________________________________________

Not always when I approach God in prayer my heart overflow with joy; sometimes I’ll pray in the midst of trouble and bitterness.

But my mood is not an excuse of not getting closer to God; when Hannah prayed to the Lord she was sad, frustrated, and was teased; but in her prayer, she trusted and rested in God. Her prayer teach me the following:

  1. I should pray acknowledging who God is. He is the Almighty.
  2. I should recognize how I feel. I must not hide or deny before God my mood, my sadness, my grief, my sense of abandonment.
  3. My request must be clear, specific and focused on pleasing God. Is interesting as Ana prayed, her grief was for not having children, and she asked for one not to satisfy selfishly, she asked one to give to God.
  4. I should always give God the best, the most valuable thing I have. Ana promised God the son she asked.
  5. I must be clear that everything, even what I request in pray, already belongs to God. Ana was clear that her son, even before giving birth, already belonged to God.

© CAYADO Consultancy – September 2013 

Posted on September 9, 2013, in 1 Samuel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

