Where did I put my hope?

“We are merely moving shadows, and all our busy rushing ends in nothing. We heap up wealth, not knowing who will spend it. And so, Lord, where do I put my hope? My only hope is in you.

Psalms 39:6-7 NTL

__________________________________________________________________

Many people may conclude erroneously, thinking that if we are merely shadows, then is not worthy fighting for a better and dignified life, and where we can enjoy some comfort.

Misinterpreting the words of the Psalmist, many people will have the perfect excuse for a passive life, with no aspirations, and in the worst case, a mediocre life.

But that’s not what he wants to communicate us, the key question here is: “Where am I putting my hope?” If my hope is only in riches or prosperity that gives me money and material goods; or if my hope is deposited in my hard work and it becomes the center of my life; then is when all I do or piled is meaningless, and my life becomes a shadow.

Only when I wait on God that my existence becomes enduring, because acquires meaning here and the eternal life; also I find the meaning of my work, knowing who will benefit from the fruit of my efforts, leaving in this way resources for the generation that will continue with my legacy.

“Then, Lord, where do I put my hope? My only hope is in you.”

© CAYADO Consultancy – August 2013 

Posted on August 18, 2013, in Psalms and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

