Shouting louder

“When Bartimaeus heard that Jesus of Nazareth was nearby, he began to shout, “Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!” “Be quiet!” many of the people yelled at him. But he only shouted louder, “Son of David, have mercy on me!” When Jesus heard him, he stopped and said, “Tell him to come here.” So they called the blind man. “Cheer up,” they said. “Come on, he’s calling you!”

(Mark 10:47-49 NTL)

__________________________________________________________________

Bartimaeus was very different to the blind person which we read in the Gospel of Mark, Chapter 8, this man was brought to Jesus to be healed; Bartimaeus instead , when he heard about Jesus started screaming, “sought and cried” by compassion and the healing power of the Master, thereby acknowledging the Lordship of Jesus.

Bartimaeus cried out for healing, crossed barriers that prevented him from reaching the Lord, and when people began to shut him up-even scolding-, avoiding his cry was heard, he did not discouraged, on the contrary, he shouted louder, struggled even more saying, “Have mercy on me and help me!”

Am I willing, like Bartimaeus to cry for my need?: “Lord, you are the Christ, have mercy on me and help me!”? Am I willing to do so despite external or internal impediments I may face?

© CAYADO Consulting – July 2013 

Posted on July 18, 2013, in Mark and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

