RSS

Hearing the rooster crow

27 Jul

“Peter swore, “A curse on me if I’m lying—I don’t know this man you’re talking about!” And immediately the rooster crowed the second time. Suddenly, Jesus’ words flashed through Peter’s mind: “Before the rooster crows twice, you will deny three times that you even know me.” And he broke down and wept.

(Mark 14:71-72 NTL)

__________________________________________________________________

“I have not heard the rooster crow; but certainly, I refused and I turned away from Jesus on many occasions.”

Denying Jesus with my words and actions is something that shows my ingratitude and disloyalty to Jesus; cause to feel sadness and disappointment of myself, and obviously made me think I’m not worthy of forgiveness and grace of God. However, without fully understand, God himself has used these denials to mold me and make me grow in faith.

Without intending to abuse the grace of God, there are some specific actions that helped me not be stuck when I experienced the bitter experience of denying Jesus:

  1. Recognize that my “denial” is not just a personal “weakness” or an “error” as a human. I have recognized that it is sin against God.
  2. Asking forgiveness for my sin. The Bible says that who confesses his sins “reaches mercy”, but also makes us recognize that only God can forgive us.
  3. Believe and accept the forgiveness received. This is much more difficult, so I have found it is easier an intellectual acceptance of forgiveness, than an experiential acceptance; so, we say that we are forgiven but we live or feel as if this has not happened yet.
  4. “Getting away from the fires.” In other words away from anything that can influence me to deny Jesus; and finally,
  5. Living one day at a time. It is not useful for me bringing the past to my present, it already happened; both good and bad things. It is not useful for me living “assuming” the future. The real thing that I have is the present, and therefore my commitment must be: stay faithful to God today, live in integrity today, not denying Jesus today.

© CAYADO Consulting – July 2013 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 27, 2013 in Mark

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 828 other followers

